Where I share my love of books with reviews, features, giveaways and memes. Family and needlepoint are thrown in from time to time.

Pages

Sunday, May 8, 2011

Mailbox Monday (May 9, 2011)



 Mailbox Monday's host for May is Mari at Mari Reads. In My Mailbox is hosted Sundays at The Story Siren. Please visit these posts and take a look at what packages everybody else got this week! 




Here, Home, Hope
by Kaira Rouda

Desperate Housewives meets Kelly Corrigan's The Middle Place in this absorbing, witty story about one suburban mother's journey from midlife crisis to reinvention.

An appetite for more forces 39-year-old Kelly Mills Johnson to take stock of her ordinary middle-American existence and her neighbors' seemingly perfect lives.  Her marriage to a successful attorney has settled into a comfortable routine, and being the mother of two adorable sons has been rewarding but exhausting.  Kelly's own passions lie wasted.  She eyes with envy the lives of her two best friends -- both beautiful, successful businesswomen who seem to have it all.

Kelly's witty reflections, self-deprecating humor, and clever tactics in executing a midlife makeover plan -- with the help of Post-it notes -- will have readers laughing out loud.  Kelly's commitment to a sullen anorexic teenager left on her doorstep tries her patience and soon she's deflecting the boozy advances of a divorced neighbor.  Emotions collide as Kelly repairs the damage she inflicted on a high school friend; realizes how deeply her husband understands and loves her; and ultimately grows into a woman empowered by her own blend of home and career.

Here, Home, Hope will appeal to women's fiction readers who are ready to transition into something new in their own lives.



When You Can't Find God
by Linda Evans Shepherd

You can find hope and peace -- no matter what.

The storms of life visit us all, and at times we find ourselves ill-prepared to weather them.  Where is God when everything comes crashing down?  Where is He when a job is lost?  When a child goes astray?  When the diagnosis is cancer?  Does he even care?

In When You Can't Find God, Linda Evans Shepherd teaches you how to see God in any circumstance, even when it's hard.  With compassion born from her own experiences with tragedy, Shepherd offers you practical strategies for surviving difficult times, giving your troubles to God, praying through the pain, and finding peace, hope, and joy once more.  She also shows you how to use the tough times as a tool to draw nearer to God.

No one is exempt from pain and trials.  But there is always hope.


I also received this ebook:



In the Belly of Jonah
by Sandra Brannan

In the Belly of Jonah is a fast-paced mystery with a likable protagonist and an intricately woven narrative brimming with bizarre yet believable twists. The first in a series, the book expertly lays the groundwork for Liv Bergen, amateur sleuth, and her love interest, FBI Agent Streeter Pierce.


Liv becomes involved in the investigation of the murder of Jill Brannigan, a summer intern at the limestone mine Liv manages near Fort Collins, Colorado (a breathtaking setting that unwittingly becomes an accessory to crime). In doing so, she inadvertently puts her friends, her family, and herself at risk of being swallowed in the belly of a madman bloated with perverse appetites for women, surrealistic art, and renown.


Perhaps a bit too daring (and at times irreverent) for her own good, ''Boots,'' as Liv's eight siblings call her, soon realizes she has a knack for outsmarting and tracking down the Venus de Milo murderer--and she enjoys it! As the gripping plot of In the Belly of Jonah unfolds, Liv Bergen takes her place alongside the best female crime-solvers as a woman with smarts, self-confidence, and intuitive savvy.





Twice a Spy
by Keith Thomson
(I won this one at www.amusingreviews.com)

In the tradition of Robert Ludlum, Thomson's novel featuring a former spy and his son poses the question: What happens when a CIA agent can no longer trust his own mind?

Retired CIA operations officer Drummond Clark and his son, Charlie, are on the lam in Switzerland, along with NSA operative Alice Rutherford.  While Charlie helps Drummond undergo an experimental treatment for Alzheimer's, Alice works to exonerate them from criminal charges against them in the United States.  That is, until she is renditioned -- or, in lay language, kidnapped.

To get her back, the father-son duo must travel to Martinique and plumb Drummond's damaged memory to locate a hidden cache of weapons.  All the while, the Clarks are tracked by a formidable CIA case officer and his team.


What books came home to you last week?


2 comments:

bermudaonion said...

That was a slow week for you. I've heard In the Belly of Jonah is fabulous!

Julie @ Knitting and Sundries said...

LOVE the cover on Here, Home, Hope, even though I'm not a big chick lit fan. In the Belly of Jonah is getting raves; I hope you enjoy it! Great mailbox!

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...