Where I share my love of books with reviews, features, giveaways and memes. Family and needlepoint are thrown in from time to time.

Pages

Tuesday, October 11, 2011

Love at Absolute Zero by Christopher Meeks (Book Review)

Title: Love at Absolute Zero
Author: Christopher Meeks
Publisher: White Whisker Books

About the book: Love at Absolute Zero is the story of Gunnar Gunderson, a 32-year-old star physicist at the University of Wisconsin. The moment he's given tenure at teh university, he can think of only one thing: finding a wife. His research falters into what happens to matter near absolute zero (-459.67 F), but he has an instant new plan. To meet his soul mate within three days -- that's what he wants and all the time he can carve out -- he will use the Scientific Method. His research team will help. Can Gunnar survive his quest? What happens if and when he goes to Denmark?

My thoughts:  I wasn't quite sure what to expect when I started reading this book.  I wasn't sure if science and romance would add up to be something that I would enjoy.  Well, I definitely enjoyed it and laughed myself through a good portion of the book. Gunnar is your typically geek.  He has spent the majority of his life in books and labs and earned tenure at the very young age of 32.  With that goal out of the way, he decides that it is now time to find a mate - but only has a few days while they are moving his lab/experiment to a more suitable location.  To make the most of his time shortage, he approaches romance like he does his experiments - with the scientific method. 

With the help of his lab partners/friends he sets out to make himself more attractive to the opposite sex - braces, laser eye surgery, hair color and cut and new wardrobe all in about 24-36 hours.  OUCH!  He then attempts to go to a speed dating event which is an hilarious disaster.  After making a few changes the next morning he goes to another speed dating event with out much more success - at the event that is.  He does have some success with a young lady he tripped over on the way in.

After a two-week whirlwind romance he sets out to change his whole life to move to Denmark to be with his new lady love. Unfortunately time does not make her heart grow fonder.  She's a more - love the one your with - sort of girl.  Poor Gunnar, if you weren't already on his side before this, you will be now.


About the author: Christopher Meeks began as a playwright and has had three plays produced. Who Lives? A Drama is published. His short stories have been published in Rosebud, The Clackamas Literary Review, The Santa Barbara Review, The Southern California Anthology, The Gander Review, and other journals and are available in two collections, The Middle-Aged Man and the Sea and Months and Seasons. He has two novels, The Brightest Moon of the Century, a story that Marc Schuster of Small Press Reviews describes as "a great and truly humane novel in the tradition of Charles Dickens and John Irving," and his new comic novel, Love At Absolute Zero.

You can visit him at his website.

You can pick up an ecopy of his book for just $.99 through Friday for your Nook or Kindle. You can also enter my INTERNATIONAL giveaway for a copy of Love at Absolute Zero.


~I received a complimentary copy of this book from Virtual Author Tours in exchange for my review.~

Love At Absolute Zero
Publisher/Publication Date: White Whisker Books, July 2011
ISBN: 978-0983632917
312 pages

1 comment:

bermudaonion said...

What a fun concept for a book! I'm glad to see it made you laugh!

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...